Fashion Trends

Missoni Obsession

In an ideal world, I would be relaxing on a beach somewhere dressed in Missoni. In reality, I am sitting at a Starbucks in Boston dressed in Forever 21 and H&M. But, back to my point, must I really explain why I love the Italian household name? From the prints to the silhouettes to the overall jet-setting vibe, I love it all. Missoni really encompasses the Dolce Vita lifestyle where you really take pleasure in the art of dressing.

Missoni Spring 2009 collection

Missoni Spring 2009 collection

The spring collection was all about translation. By this I mean that it was clearly a difficult set of trends to translate into the Missoni style: harem pants, jumpsuits, etc. Angela Missoni did a good job of sticking to their guns, meshing these wild-card trends with timeless Missoni patterns.

Missoni Fall 2009 collection

Missoni Fall 2009 collection

Missoni looked to their Italian roots for fall inspiration.  In this case, it means knits, knits, and more knits. The piled layers sent a message of hippie meets hip-hop. Personally, I know that I would like to wrap up in some of these layers for my long walks in Boston next season! However, I found the collection to be a bit redundant taking the whole concept of a “seamless” collection a little too far. I missed the signature Missoni color palette, but I guess the decision to mute down the shades for fall makes more sense.

Joy Bryant, Nicole Richie, Sienna Miller, and Mischa Barton in Missoni

Joy Bryant, Nicole Richie, Sienna Miller, and Mischa Barton in Missoni

Sarah Jessica Parker, Ashley Olsen, Leighton Meester, and Molly Sims in Missoni

Sarah Jessica Parker, Ashley Olsen, Leighton Meester, and Molly Sims in Missoni

Peace,

4 thoughts on “Missoni Obsession

  1. Pingback: Laidback Looks of the Week « La Vie Boston

Leave a Reply

