Fashion Trends

With My Trilby Cap, The Ensemble’s Locked

TREND: TRILBIES AND FEDORAS

I hereby am determined to become a hat person. True, I have less need for going incognito then say…any of the ladies below. Yet somehow I do always find myself wishing to avoid gussying up for city strolls. For this reason shades have become essential and what better way to reinforce the undercover look then by adding a trilby or other hat?

Since trilbies and especially fedoras took a much-needed and rather long break from being in style, a comeback was definitely in order. And pulling one off is easier than it sounds.

  • Keep competing accessories to a minimum.
  • Add long necklaces instead of earrings.

This look is very “borrowed-from-the-boys” so the key is to either a) combine it with feminine proportions–dresses, mini skirts, and drapey tops or b) take the full-fledged menswear route–trousers and structure.

  • Stick to neutrals or one pattern only to avoid seeming overdone.
  • Choose the hat as your outfit statement piece, without tackling other trends.

Peace,

Title from “Trilby” by Amy Winehouse

8 thoughts on “With My Trilby Cap, The Ensemble’s Locked

  1. I just LOVE this! God! Diane looks so beautiful there. I´m determined to become a hat person, too! I even got a top cat just for fun last week. Very Stevie Nicks of me ;) Hope you have awonderful week, darling! Peace!

  2. Love these hats. I tried one on this weekend as joke while out shopping and my friend exclaimed “that looks good on you!” so now I have to get one!

  3. Pingback: La Vie Looks of the Week «

  4. Pingback: June 2010 Inspiration Board «

  5. Pingback: La Vie Looks of the Week |

Leave a Reply

